Life Goal: Memorize the New Testament

I normally am not this ambitious, but I decided that I want to memorize the whole New Testament before I die. My reasons why:

  • Nothing is more worthy of my time and effort.
  • Nothing is more excellent to have in my thoughts.
  • Nothing is more helpful to others than to be able to speak truth into darkness, fear or pain at any time.
  • Nothing else kills pride like the testimony of Scripture of my great need for a gracious and merciful Savior like Jesus.

I did a little research to see what I’m up against. In the RSV, there are 7,958 verses. I’m sure I have more memorized than this in various verses scattered about, but in terms of whole passages, so far I definitely have:

  • Colossians: 95 verses.
  • 1 Peter 1:1–2:10 : 35 verses.
  • Matthew 6:25–34 : 10 verses.
  • Ephesians 2:1–10 :  10 verses.

TOTAL: 150 verses.
% Complete: 1.9%

Leave a comment